Our activities are directed by a Board, who are elected by our members.

The Board meets regularly in a forum open to all Chief Executives and Managing Directors of member companies to consult on key topics for the UK’s Innovation, Research & Technology sector.

Board of directors

The AIRTO board of directors is responsible for the governance and strategy of AIRTO.

Steve Yianni FREng

President, AIRTO

Andrew Jamieson

Chair of AIRTO and CEO, the Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult

Professor Richard Brook OBE FREng

Vice President, AIRTO

Dr Paul Howarth FREng

Chief Executive Officer, UK National Nuclear Laboratory

Nicola McIntosh, Finance and Commercial Director at The Oil & Gas Technology Centre

Nicola McIntosh

Finance and Commercial Director at Net Zero Technology Centre

Professor Patrick Bonnett

Development Director at the National Innovation Centre for Ageing

Dr Bruce Tomlinson

Chief Executive Officer, HR Wallingford

Gillian Charlesworth

Group Chief Executive, BRE Group

Professor Tat-Hean Gan

Director of Innovation and Skills at TWI Ltd.

Lyndsay Chapman



Dr Jane Gate

Executive Director

Shelley Sharma

Executive Administrator

Peter Oakley

Government Affairs Lead

Professor Vicky Pope

National Laboratories Lead

Daniel Backhouse

Policy Associate, Glass Futures

Jennifer Heyes

Policy Associate, AWE

Abbas Mohimi

Policy Associate, TWI